Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: SA2 - Tree Fix? - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

SA2 - Tree Fix?

#1 User is offline Marcus101RR 

Posted 18 April 2018 - 12:00 AM

  • Provisional
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 24-April 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, Florida
  • Project:http://leafosgaming.wixsite.com/leafos
Hello,

I wondering if there is any fix that makes the trees work like they should in Dreamcast/Gamecube copies. What is the deal with the trees anyway? I have been looking around Steam as well as related fixes, but they speak of Hex Viewers and I tried one and I could not find the so called offset they claim to have those fixes. Any idea where the Tree glitch is located at?

#2 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 19 April 2018 - 12:50 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4224
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I believe the only "fix" for the trees is one that makes them appear fully grown all the time. AFAIK nobody really knows why the trees are broken or how to properly fix them.

#3 User is offline Irixion 

Posted 19 April 2018 - 02:10 PM

  • Posts: 1521
  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • Project:Life
  • Wiki edits:152
Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly is wrong with the trees?

#4 User is offline Blue Spikeball 

Posted 20 April 2018 - 10:28 AM

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: 29-October 16
  • Gender:Male

View PostIrixion, on 19 April 2018 - 02:10 PM, said:

Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly is wrong with the trees?

The Chao Garden trees planted by your Chao are glitched, as the graphics always depict them as saplings regardless of their growth. There's no fix, but a common workaround is hex editing the game exe so that they're depicted as being fully grown all the time.

#5 User is offline Marcus101RR 

Posted 23 April 2018 - 12:39 AM

  • Provisional
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 24-April 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, Florida
  • Project:http://leafosgaming.wixsite.com/leafos

View PostMainMemory, on 19 April 2018 - 12:50 PM, said:

I believe the only "fix" for the trees is one that makes them appear fully grown all the time. AFAIK nobody really knows why the trees are broken or how to properly fix them.


Can you direct to to this fix? Is it available somewhere.


View PostBlue Spikeball, on 20 April 2018 - 10:28 AM, said:

View PostIrixion, on 19 April 2018 - 02:10 PM, said:

Forgive my ignorance, but what exactly is wrong with the trees?

The Chao Garden trees planted by your Chao are glitched, as the graphics always depict them as saplings regardless of their growth. There's no fix, but a common workaround is hex editing the game exe so that they're depicted as being fully grown all the time.


This pretty much sums it up, the tree itself does grow, the but the graphics of the sapling remains small.

#6 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 24 April 2018 - 01:14 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4224
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I don't know where to find the fix. It might be in Chao World Extended?
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 24 April 2018 - 01:18 AM

#7 User is offline Marcus101RR 

Posted 24 April 2018 - 11:46 AM

  • Provisional
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 24-April 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, Florida
  • Project:http://leafosgaming.wixsite.com/leafos

View PostMainMemory, on 24 April 2018 - 01:14 AM, said:

I don't know where to find the fix. It might be in Chao World Extended?


I used that, but didn't notice any fixes. The Hero Garden Fruit still gives 99 stats, and the Trees still grow like midgets. My guess Is I have to manually patch my exe?

#8 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 24 April 2018 - 12:38 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4224
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Well, no, anything that can be done by patching the EXE can also be done with the mod loader.

#9 User is offline Marcus101RR 

Posted 24 April 2018 - 06:14 PM

  • Provisional
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 24-April 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, Florida
  • Project:http://leafosgaming.wixsite.com/leafos

View PostMainMemory, on 24 April 2018 - 12:38 PM, said:

Well, no, anything that can be done by patching the EXE can also be done with the mod loader.



Well if the mod loader is the fix, and the patch is from CHao World Extended, then I can say with certainty, it is not fixed. I am running the sonic2app.exe of Chao World Extended, and running the 7.5 version of Chao World Extended mod only. Hero Garden Fruit is still 99, and Trees still grow like midget saplings all day with floating leaves of adult trees. I can fix the Hero Fruit with Cheat engine easily, but the tree thing is a whole different ball game.

#10 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 26 April 2018 - 12:23 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4224
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
OK, the fix you've been looking for is here.

#11 User is offline Marcus101RR 

Posted 26 April 2018 - 12:59 PM

  • Provisional
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 24-April 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA, Florida
  • Project:http://leafosgaming.wixsite.com/leafos

View PostMainMemory, on 26 April 2018 - 12:23 AM, said:

OK, the fix you've been looking for is here.


Now, this requires a decrypted exe because any changes made to the default one will make it refuse to run. Use any free hex editor (I use Frhed) and go to offset 4869224. Change the default value of 63 (99%) to 28 (40%). You've now fixed the stamina value given by fruits in the Hero garden!

So where do I get the encrypted one? Damn it sega, wish you just fix this.

#12 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 26 April 2018 - 01:15 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4224
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
The encrypted EXE is the one that you get from Steam. The decrypted EXE is one that I made. But as I said before, any changes that you make by editing the EXE can also be done with the mod loader.
Add the following to mods\Codes.lst:
patch "Hero Garden Fruit Fix"
write8 8A6468 40

patch "Chao Garden Tree Fix"
write8 1329149 0x7D
write16 1329154 0xAD9C
write16 1329160 0xDBE4
write16 132916C 0xFD04
write16 1329178 0x1C9C
write16 1329184 0x3DDC
write16 1329190 0x64FC

This post has been edited by MainMemory: 26 April 2018 - 01:15 PM

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users