Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Modded Mega Drive (model 1) + US 32X - will it work? - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Modded Mega Drive (model 1) + US 32X - will it work?

#1 User is offline MartiusR 

Posted 13 June 2016 - 05:58 AM

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: 07-December 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
I've obtained modded Mega Drive (model 1), which allows to launch cartridges from any region (of course it has proper switches etc). Now my question is - is it possible to plug in there 32X (US version), and will it work properly? I'm aware that I'll need to use separate AC adapters with different parameters (normal, european for console, with voltage converter for 32X), but other than that - will it cooperate, when I will set switches for reading US cartridges? I've give up the searching for european 32X (and games), since their prices are monstrous.

And well - how about Sega CD? Is there some difference?
This post has been edited by MartiusR: 13 June 2016 - 06:01 AM

#2 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 13 June 2016 - 06:49 AM

  • Dem Melons
  • Posts: 2923
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:SMS RPG script
  • Wiki edits:10
Yes. The 32x doesn't care about region.

Sega CDs do actually check the region of the console, however, so you'll need to boot it in the correct region, unless you have a flashcart that supports loading Sega CD BIOS's, or a modded BIOS on your Sega CD.

#3 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 13 June 2016 - 09:05 AM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2745
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:5,000 + one spin

View PostFlygon, on 13 June 2016 - 06:49 AM, said:

Yes. The 32x doesn't care about region.

Almost. There's a resistor whose presence determines if the 32X is NTSC or PAL. You'll need a switch here to support both variants.

Also, if you didn't add a second master oscillator to the MD, composite and S-Video will be broken when switching to NTSC. If you're using RGB, the timings will be slightly off, but it'll still usually work. (32X and CD might complain, though.)
This post has been edited by GerbilSoft: 13 June 2016 - 09:05 AM

#4 User is offline MartiusR 

Posted 27 June 2016 - 07:23 AM

  • Posts: 402
  • Joined: 07-December 14
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland
I'm sorry, but I forgot a bit about this topic, since I'm still waiting for.. AV cable (by some reason I was thinking that I will just use AV cable and AC Adapter from my MD model 2, but unfortunately, I've realised my mistake when I've finally obtained the modded console - and there is only this old anthenna input and DIN input).

View PostGerbilSoft, on 13 June 2016 - 09:05 AM, said:

View PostFlygon, on 13 June 2016 - 06:49 AM, said:

Yes. The 32x doesn't care about region.


Almost. There's a resistor whose presence determines if the 32X is NTSC or PAL. You'll need a switch here to support both variants.

Also, if you didn't add a second master oscillator to the MD, composite and S-Video will be broken when switching to NTSC. If you're using RGB, the timings will be slightly off, but it'll still usually work. (32X and CD might complain, though.)


I've heard a bit about modding 32X, however I think that it won't be too useful in my case, since most (if not every) games on 32X are cheaper on ebay and other sources in NTSC version. The price for shipping is quite often monstrous (depending on the seller though), but still, both games and 32X are cheaper. o I'm rather not expecting to obtain even one PAL game on this system.

I'm not sure about this second master oscillator (ok, in fact I don't even know, what it is :P), the only thing I know is that there are two switches - one is on 50Hz and 60Hz, while the second one is to set Japanese, European or American region. And that modded console's "basis" is european. (I assume that it means that I can freely use AC adapter from model 2? edit: No, I can't, since plugin is smaller :()
This post has been edited by MartiusR: 01 July 2016 - 05:20 AM

#5 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 09 July 2016 - 07:12 PM

  • Dem Melons
  • Posts: 2923
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:SMS RPG script
  • Wiki edits:10

View PostGerbilSoft, on 13 June 2016 - 09:05 AM, said:

View PostFlygon, on 13 June 2016 - 06:49 AM, said:

Yes. The 32x doesn't care about region.

Almost. There's a resistor whose presence determines if the 32X is NTSC or PAL. You'll need a switch here to support both variants.

Also, if you didn't add a second master oscillator to the MD, composite and S-Video will be broken when switching to NTSC. If you're using RGB, the timings will be slightly off, but it'll still usually work. (32X and CD might complain, though.)

Huh, I wasn't aware of this. I'll need to double check what I've been doing . But I've had it work perfectly with running Mega Drive software @ 60Hz. It's actually been a while since I've looked into this. It's been very busy.

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users