Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: High Quality GBA OSTs (Technically...) - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 7 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
    Locked
    Locked Forum

High Quality GBA OSTs (Technically...) All Sappy GBA ROMs, including Sonic Adv 1,2,3 & Battle

#91 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:49 PM

  • Dem Melons
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:SMS RPG script
  • Wiki edits:10

View PostMaxd, on 20 November 2012 - 11:19 AM, said:

You know, there is probably a much easier way to rip some games's soundtracks.

A prosounded GBA, GBA SP, or GBA SP with a headphone jack would be sufficient, and the recordings would probably require mixing, but the games are limited by accessibility to levels or music test screen instead of sound driver. With the prosound mod you get a pure unamped signal, and a legitimate GBA render. Personally, I think it would be easiest (and best sounding) to do this with a GBA SP with a DIY prosound mod, and an EZ flash IV so you could flash any ROMS you needed to record and use cheat codes/hacked saves to access sound tests, etc.

Just a thought, for those of you vying for non-Sappy sound tracks.

You'd still wind up with PWM filtering. Which is the main point of the MIDI+SF2 rips, to avoid the filtering.
This post has been edited by Flygon: 20 November 2012 - 10:49 PM

#92 User is offline OmochaoAbuser 

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:31 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 02-September 08
Golden Sun: http://www.mediafire...400lv5vvbfde9ax
Lost Age: http://www.mediafire...7zraxrdp42b82aq
Mario Golf: Advance Tour (uses GS engine): http://www.mediafire...ycrwl5iz1b8u8x1
Mario Tennis: Power Tour (uses GS engine): http://www.mediafire...8vjnqoxpnzak2gd

Problem is, as you know, Camelot uses a custom version of the "Sappy" engine, and thus there are instruments missing. I have discovered, by playing with a MIDI editor, that the problem lies with the soundfonts. If someone could fix the soundfonts, I would be most grateful!

#93 User is offline ThunderPX 

Posted 04 December 2012 - 08:53 AM

  • Posts: 1548
  • Joined: 17-May 05
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Wiki edits:20
Did you use the -sb option?

#94 User is offline OmochaoAbuser 

Posted 05 December 2012 - 12:18 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 02-September 08
Didn't make a difference. Had another go with MidiEditor, and discovered something interesting about the midis - it seems the track data is present but much of the instrument data is not!

For example, I tried changing some of the silent parts at the start of "Wintery Imil" to a recognized instrument and this is what I got:
http://www.mediafire...v2umdfhwqpqk8m8
This post has been edited by OmochaoAbuser: 05 December 2012 - 12:45 AM

#95 User is offline OmochaoAbuser 

Posted 25 December 2012 - 03:17 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 02-September 08
Merry Christmas!

Elf

#96 User is offline Tanks 

Posted 12 May 2014 - 07:20 PM

  • Posts: 1009
  • Joined: 01-July 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:1
*BUH-BUH-BUH-BUMPED*

UPDATE TIME MOTHERFUCKERS.

PRESENTING.

TRUMPETS. NOW A 3-DIMENSIONAL AUDIO (NOT SO VISUAL) MIDI-SOUNDFONT EXPERIENCE EXTRAVAGANZA.

MY EARDRUMS ARE READY.

(And also Fire Red, for what its worth.)

#97 User is online ICEknight 

Posted 13 May 2014 - 11:04 AM

  • Posts: 10486
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
  • Wiki edits:18
Wait a minute... How comes the size of the Pokémon Emerald soundtrack is roughly the size of a CD? o_O

#98 User is offline Tanks 

Posted 13 May 2014 - 11:12 AM

  • Posts: 1009
  • Joined: 01-July 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:1
Hahaha Its the samples. Plus you've got these unused voice synths that got ripped with it as well. To be honest, I could have left them out, but I'm a bit of a purist. :v:

#99 User is offline Aerosol 

Posted 14 May 2014 - 12:58 AM

  • FML and FU2
  • Posts: 9725
  • Joined: 27-April 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Not where I want to be.
  • Project:Sonic (?): Coming summer of 2055...?
So...what exactly did you do? And it can it be done for other games?

#100 User is offline Tanks 

Posted 22 May 2014 - 10:36 AM

  • Posts: 1009
  • Joined: 01-July 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:1
? Oh, all I did was run a script which converts sappy to midi and converts the samples to sf2 soundfonts. If you grab the right plugins for Foobar you can listen to most GBA songs in high quality due tot he samples not being nerfed by the gba or the gsf format. And yeah, as far as other games go, check the first post. Its basically anything sappy based. :P

#101 User is offline shilz 

Posted 22 December 2015 - 10:45 PM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 25-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aquatic Base
  • Project:Project Donnie The Show
Bump.
So I was wondering if anyone had a mirror to GBAMusRiper. Mainly because the one I can find is Romhacking.net, and it doesn't allow for download pausing and doesn't have a direct link to the filso I can redirect the fle to somewhere else with download pausing.
The reason for this is my computer goes stupid after a couple minutes on the same file.
This post has been edited by shilz: 23 December 2015 - 12:06 AM

#102 User is offline Flygon 

Posted 23 December 2015 - 02:18 AM

  • Dem Melons
  • Posts: 2955
  • Joined: 10-February 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Project:SMS RPG script
  • Wiki edits:10
This should work, shilz.
Holy crap, 4 years as a Trial Member? Someone approve this guy already!
This post has been edited by Flygon: 23 December 2015 - 02:20 AM

#103 User is offline shilz 

Posted 24 December 2015 - 01:10 AM

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 25-November 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aquatic Base
  • Project:Project Donnie The Show
Thanks.
And that's largely my own fault since I registered then, Made numerous horrible attempts in the same thread the years since, then actually tried separately.
Edit: it occurred to me once it finally downloaded that I have no clue how to use these types of programs.
I encountered it first with Xoreos tools, although that was more of a "I want" instead of "I need".
Edit2: fixed. Spaces In the directory name.
This post has been edited by shilz: 24 December 2015 - 03:38 AM

#104 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 24 December 2015 - 02:48 AM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 6671
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
Plus theirs always the threat that you will never leave Pending Limbo no matter how much you contribute here, like OmochaoAbuser up their. Pending Limbo for 3 years now, poor guy.

  • 7 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users