Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: [WIP] Flicky Engine - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

[WIP] Flicky Engine A STH3 Styled engine for Game Maker: Studio (2)

#1 User is offline Violet 

Posted 19 May 2017 - 08:49 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive
Hope it's okay to post WIP threads...

Flicky is a upcoming new STH (3 styled) engine for Game Maker: Studio and Studio 2.
Similar to my previous engine called GMate, but much better!

(Planned) Features:
- Full 360° Movement.
- Sonic, Tails and Knuckles, with all their abilities!
- 8° and 360° Angle Rotation.
- Most, common objects from Sonic 3 (& Knuckles)
- Super forms for every character, including the super flickies for tails and earthquake for Knuckles.
- More..

Screenshots:


Progress:
Characters & Physics: 50%
Common Objects: 50%
Collision System: 90%
Enemies: 10%

Test Build:
Use "Z" to Jump and "Space" to switch between shields!
Download

Credits:
Hobbes - Coding.
MrLange - Accuracy, Sounds.
TPot - Accuracy, Coding.
TheValeev - Coding.

Will update this soon with more details!
This post has been edited by Violet: 24 May 2017 - 11:46 AM

#2 User is offline AeroGP 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 05:26 PM

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 02-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA
  • Project:Sonic: Time Twisted
  • Wiki edits:8
Note: A, B, C and D can also be used to jump.

I don't seem to be able to gain enough speed while rolling down slopes in the example build provided. Is that not yet implemented, or is there some kind of speed cap in place?
This post has been edited by AeroGP: 20 May 2017 - 05:35 PM

#3 User is offline Violet 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 05:35 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive

View PostAeroGP, on 20 May 2017 - 05:26 PM, said:

Note: A, B, C and D can also be used to jump.

I don't seem to be able to gain speed while rolling down slopes in the example build provided. Is that not yet implemented, or is there some kind of speed cap in place?


His speed is limited to 12 both horizontally and vertically.
You can disable that in the engine though later.
This post has been edited by Violet: 20 May 2017 - 05:35 PM

#4 User is offline AeroGP 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 06:32 PM

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 02-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA
  • Project:Sonic: Time Twisted
  • Wiki edits:8

View PostViolet, on 20 May 2017 - 05:35 PM, said:

His speed is limited to 12 both horizontally and vertically.


I could be wrong, but shouldn't it be 16 by default and not 12?

#5 User is offline Violet 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 07:04 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive

View PostAeroGP, on 20 May 2017 - 06:32 PM, said:

View PostViolet, on 20 May 2017 - 05:35 PM, said:

His speed is limited to 12 both horizontally and vertically.


I could be wrong, but shouldn't it be 16 by default and not 12?


Pretty sure it's 12... The Retro guide doesn't mention more than 12 at least?
Maybe i didn't read it properly though :p
This post has been edited by Violet: 20 May 2017 - 07:17 PM

#6 User is offline AeroGP 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 07:49 PM

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 02-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA
  • Project:Sonic: Time Twisted
  • Wiki edits:8

View PostViolet, on 20 May 2017 - 07:04 PM, said:

View PostAeroGP, on 20 May 2017 - 06:32 PM, said:

View PostViolet, on 20 May 2017 - 05:35 PM, said:

His speed is limited to 12 both horizontally and vertically.


I could be wrong, but shouldn't it be 16 by default and not 12?


Pretty sure it's 12... The Retro guide doesn't mention more than 12 at least?
Maybe i didn't read it properly though :p


I'll have to ask Mercury later if that's actually correct.

In the meantime, I'm basing my number off notes from the tool-assisted speed running community, found here and here.

#7 User is offline DigitalDuck 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 07:51 PM

  • Arriving four years late.
  • Posts: 4391
  • Joined: 23-June 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincs, UK
  • Project:TurBoa, S1RL
The original games don't limit Sonic's speed at all; the camera is limited to 16 pixels per frame both horizontally and vertically.

EDIT: I should clarify that I mean in general; Sonic can't accelerate past 6 pixels/frame by running along the ground or horizontally in the air, but can maintain this speed and increase it to no limit by rolling downhill.
This post has been edited by DigitalDuck: 20 May 2017 - 07:53 PM

#8 User is offline Violet 

Posted 20 May 2017 - 08:35 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive
Gotcha, i'll change that later.

#9 User is offline Violet 

Posted 24 May 2017 - 11:47 AM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive
Updated the exe with a few fixes. Shields should properly animate and work now.
Fixed some Spring issues (jumping on them from the bottom would trigger their animation), you can break monitors by rolling now and his speed is now limited to 16.

Another small change i made is the Jump height is now variable.
This post has been edited by Violet: 24 May 2017 - 12:43 PM

#10 User is offline Violet 

Posted 26 June 2017 - 08:11 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive
1.0 should drop next month hopefully.
ANYWAYS
have some palette magic:
Posted Image

#11 User is offline AeroGP 

Posted 27 June 2017 - 12:01 PM

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 02-November 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA
  • Project:Sonic: Time Twisted
  • Wiki edits:8
I assume you're using the Retro Palette Swapper shader to achieve this effect?

#12 User is offline Violet 

Posted 27 June 2017 - 01:09 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive

View PostAeroGP, on 27 June 2017 - 12:01 PM, said:

I assume you're using the Retro Palette Swapper shader to achieve this effect?

a modified version yeah.
now with proper palette:
Posted Image
This post has been edited by Violet: 27 June 2017 - 01:12 PM

#13 User is offline Gammatron 

Posted 27 June 2017 - 06:48 PM

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 26-June 17
I've been looking at this and Gmate and I have a question: would it be possible to do Sonic 3 style act transitions with them and are you planning on doing that? I.E. the level finishes, then just continues on to the next act?

There's the obvious method of just making both acts one big room, but that would probably take up a lot of memory and if I recall correctly, don't Game Maker rooms have a size \ object limit? I've been toying around with how this would work in my head. Maybe have the end of Act 1 be the same as the beginning of Act 2, and the position of Sonic \ the sign post \ a bonus monitor would be determined using coordinates relative to views maybe? It's probably doable, right?

Now there's another thing that I've wondering about but I frankly have no idea how it would work in Game Maker... and I'm not sure if anyone's actually pulled it off. I'm talking about levels that loop like Labyrinth \ Metropolis \ Ice Cap \ Sandopolis \ etc. That's way less necessary but it would be a neat feature to have.

#14 User is offline Violet 

Posted 27 June 2017 - 06:55 PM

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 14-June 16
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Project:Flicky Engine, Overdrive
I plan to add the S3 transitions, already have a idea how to make it and not so sure about the second one.
Easiest way might be a sensor that moves his x/y position back to the loop point.
This post has been edited by Violet: 27 June 2017 - 06:56 PM

#15 User is offline Gammatron 

Posted 28 June 2017 - 08:38 AM

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 26-June 17

View PostViolet, on 27 June 2017 - 06:55 PM, said:

I plan to add the S3 transitions, already have a idea how to make it and not so sure about the second one.
Easiest way might be a sensor that moves his x/y position back to the loop point.


I did a google search and I found these forum posts:

https://forum.yoyoga...ing-rooms.4165/
https://www.reddit.c..._room_wrapping/
https://forum.yoyoga...-concept.20639/

I'm not sure how well they work, though.

It's probably not a huge priority as not a lot of Sonic levels do this (although most of them are in fact in Sonic 3), but I just started thinking about it when I read a forum post on here about Sonic level design. However you would probably get props for being the first fangame maker to actually do this, because I don't think any have before.
http://forums.sonicr...showtopic=28302

Making good Sonic levels is hard, lol. I don't think I ever realized as a kid just how much thought has to go into the different paths and how many gimmicks you have to code to make it interesting.
This post has been edited by Gammatron: 28 June 2017 - 08:39 AM

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users