Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Now with internationalization! - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Loading News Feed...
 

Now with internationalization!

#1 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 06 March 2011 - 03:20 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2003
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
Over the past week, I've been implementing support for Qt's localization system in Gens/GS II. Here's the results.

General Configuration Window, US English: (default)


General Configuration Window, British English:


General Configuration Window, Japanese:


Special thanks to Overlord for providing the British English translation and Scarred Sun for providing the Japanese translation.

Note that the translations aren't complete yet. This is an ongoing side project that will be done in parallel with the regular Gens/GS coding. (Translation files are separate from the code, so translators can work on them independently.)

Also, there's no UI for selecting a language yet, so it defaults to the system language. On Linux, this can be overridden by setting the LANG and LC_ALL variables. I'm not sure about other platforms.

#2 User is offline nineko 

Posted 06 March 2011 - 03:45 PM

  • I am the Holy Cat
  • Posts: 5294
  • Joined: 17-August 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:italy
  • Project:I... don't even know anymore :U
  • Wiki edits:5,251
Can I help?

#3 User is offline ashthedragon 

Posted 06 March 2011 - 03:54 PM

  • Dragon Team
  • Posts: 1084
  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Spain
  • Project:Sonic Paradise & Sonic Ages
I would like to help with the spanish language translation too. Can I?

#4 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 06 March 2011 - 03:56 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2003
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
The strings aren't finalized, so maintaining a bunch of translations right now will be a pain. (The translation files keep getting shifted around.)

However, once I finish all the strings ("string freeze"), I'll post a tutorial on how to translate Gens/GS II.
This post has been edited by GerbilSoft: 06 March 2011 - 07:29 PM

#5 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 15 May 2011 - 09:00 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2003
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
Just a small update. Gens/GS II isn't dead; I've just been busy with my senior design project. Hopefully I'll resume working on Gens/GS II sometime this week.

I will probably finish up the first draft of the ZOMG 0.8 specification and post it here by Friday.

#6 User is offline steveswede 

Posted 15 May 2011 - 09:35 PM

  • Posts: 2818
  • Joined: 13-April 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birthplace of Lara Croft
  • Project:Bowel reconstruction
  • Wiki edits:6
Would you consider doing your version for the PS3 as a PKG? It's because your in development of the Mega CD, the GX version hasn't got one planned and I wouldn't mind playing real Mega CD games on it.

#7 User is offline GerbilSoft 

Posted 15 May 2011 - 10:06 PM

  • RickRotate'd.
  • Posts: 2003
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Project:Gens/GS
  • Wiki edits:158
QUOTE (steveswede @ May 15 2011, 10:35 PM)
Would you consider doing your version for the PS3 as a PKG? It's because your in development of the Mega CD, the GX version hasn't got one planned and I wouldn't mind playing real Mega CD games on it.

There's a few main issues with porting Gens/GS II to consoles:
1. The CPU cores are currently i386-only. The rest of the emulator does run on PowerPC (tested with a Power Mac G4), but it isn't a very useful emulator without CPU emulation.
2. Qt doesn't run on consoles, so I'd have to write a new UI for each system.
3. I do not have, nor will I ever buy a PS3.

If someone would like to contribute a PS3 UI after PowerPC support is implemented, I'd consider adding it to the repository.

#8 User is offline synchronizer 

Posted 16 May 2011 - 04:07 PM

  • Posts: 1625
  • Joined: 20-August 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:19
Isn't "program" spelled 'programme" in British English? Besides that, everything seems good.

#9 User is offline steveswede 

Posted 16 May 2011 - 04:13 PM

  • Posts: 2818
  • Joined: 13-April 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birthplace of Lara Croft
  • Project:Bowel reconstruction
  • Wiki edits:6
QUOTE (synchronizer @ May 16 2011, 10:07 PM)
Isn't "program" spelled 'programme" in British English? Besides that, everything seems good.


When it comes to TV yes but with software it's program.

#10 User is offline Conan Kudo 

Posted 16 May 2011 - 10:12 PM

  • 「真実はいつも一つ!」工藤新一
  • Posts: 477
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:14
QUOTE (steveswede @ May 16 2011, 04:13 PM)
QUOTE (synchronizer @ May 16 2011, 10:07 PM)
Isn't "program" spelled 'programme" in British English? Besides that, everything seems good.


When it comes to TV yes but with software it's program.


And yet many Britons I know spell it "programme" when it relates to a software program.... Idiocy comes with complexity...

#11 User is offline steveswede 

Posted 16 May 2011 - 10:24 PM

  • Posts: 2818
  • Joined: 13-April 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Birthplace of Lara Croft
  • Project:Bowel reconstruction
  • Wiki edits:6
QUOTE (Conan Kudo @ May 17 2011, 04:12 AM)
And yet many Britons I know spell it "programme" when it relates to a software program.... Idiocy comes with complexity...


Words evolve over time and some prime examples of this are words like colledge and disk. These spellings are practically obsolete here and I'm sure programme soon will be with the heavy use that program gets used over the internet.

#12 User is offline DalekSam 

Posted 17 May 2011 - 07:34 AM

  • dubstep extrodinaire
  • Posts: 1811
  • Joined: 19-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ireland, Belfast
  • Project:Sonic Thrash, Amphobius
  • Wiki edits:165
QUOTE (steveswede @ May 16 2011, 10:13 PM)
QUOTE (synchronizer @ May 16 2011, 10:07 PM)
Isn't "program" spelled 'programme" in British English? Besides that, everything seems good.


When it comes to TV yes but with software it's program.

Considering the British English 'translation' was done by Overlord, it'd be very unwise to doubt it.

#13 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 17 May 2011 - 02:51 PM

  • Что, вы ожидали что-то остроумное?
  • Posts: 13751
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
XD

Yes, it's program for software, programme for TV. Though really that's only standardised relatively recently, C64 mags and the like used to use the longer spelling. Though I will note the disc/disk thing is still somewhat ambiguous even today.

#14 User is offline TmEE 

Posted 17 May 2011 - 03:06 PM

  • Watermelons are good stuff
  • Posts: 1708
  • Joined: 06-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Estonia, Rapla City
  • Project:Mélodie, WaveMelon Träkker, bunch o other stahv.
  • Wiki edits:11
Magnetic media - disk
Optical media - disc
That's how I see it...

I could provide Estonian translation when things get far enough

#15 User is offline Sik 

Posted 17 May 2011 - 06:47 PM

  • Sik is pronounced as "seek", not as "sick".
  • Posts: 6719
  • Joined: 17-March 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:being an asshole =P
  • Wiki edits:11
QUOTE (TmEE @ May 17 2011, 05:06 PM)
Magnetic media - disk
Optical media - disc
That's how I see it...
It isn't just how you see it, that's how it was standarized actually. Disc = optical media, disk = everything else. There isn't much ambiguity here.

Also I wonder if the program/programme thing is why the word "application" was made to reference them...

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users